- A to Z Electronic Journals
A to Z lists all electronic journals cited in electronic databases subscribed to by Mack Library in addition to our print titles. Periodical titles may be searched alphabetically by title or by subject.
- Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,600 journals and a total of more than 13,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
BioMedSearch is a biomedical search engine that contains NIH/PubMed documents, plus a large collection of theses, dissertations, and other publications not found anywhere else for free, making it the most comprehensive free search on the web. Registering for BioMedSearch is free
- Britannica Online
Includes all the content of the 32-volume Encyclopedia Britannica, plus the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia for quick answers to everyday questions and the Britannica Student Encyclopedia, which is ideal for students in grades 5-9. In addition, a world atlas covers the geography, economies, and cultures of more than 215 countries.
- Chemistry Periodic Table
"Periodic Table Live! allows you to explore a broad range of information about the elements, their reactions, their properties, their structures, and their histories." Home page
- Cool Science
"Through its grants to individuals and institutions, HHMI supports scientists and educators who seek to transform the way science is taught in schools, colleges and universities across the nation. Our grantees have created a wealth of resources that you can adapt to your own needs or use as inspiration for your own teaching." Educator page.
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an easy to use tool for research projects and homework. A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 100 videos.
- GreenFile (EBSCO)
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- GreenR:Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources
"GREENR focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment. Both interactive and current, GREENR allows users to navigate issue, organization and country portals. A one-stop site, this resource provides news, background information, video, unique commentaries, primary source documents and statistics in highly accessible, visually appealing research areas, covering relevant categories including energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, economic development. One of the things that makes GREENR so user-friendly, is it does not look like the typical database product." Gale
- Knowledge Door
Chemistry, math, science, and more at this site.
Liebert Online delivers electronic access to peer-reviewed journals published by Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. Our critical mass of content exceeds 28,000 papers from more than fifty-five authoritative journals, all full-text searchable and linked to external bibliographic databases.
- Marshall Cavendish Digital
Marshall Cavendish Digital is an electronic resource for six print titles in the Marshall Cavendish Reference collection: Animal and Plant Anatomy, Drugs and Society, Earth and Physical Sciences, Family Health, Great Writers of the Modern Era, How It Works, Life Sciences, Renaissance and Reformation, Technology and Applied Sciences.
- Middle Search Plus (EBSCO)
Middle Search® Plus contains full text for more than 150 popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays.
Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia; New Oxford American Dictionary, 2nd Edition; Encyclopedia of Animals™; and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
- National Science Digital Library
NSDL is the Nation's online library for education and research in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics.
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. It provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends in science. Includes 1997 to the current issue.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills and information literacy
- More than 400 reference book titles and 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles
- Periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts and graphs
- Includes Lexile reading levels for periodical content
- Science Daily
ScienceDaily is one of the Internet's leading online magazines and Web portals devoted to science, technology, and medicine. The free, advertising supported service brings you breaking news about the latest discoveries and hottest research projects in everything from astrophysics to zoology.
- Science in Context (Gale)
Comprehensive curriculum-oriented database of reference and periodical content covering Life Science, Physical Science, Earth and Space Science
- More than 30 reference titles
- More than 300 periodicals, both general and scholarly
- Science Online
The world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary. Includes ScienceNOW and Science 1997-current issue, except Science Express PDF articles.
Mack Library subscribes to the ScienceDirect College Edition Journal Collection in the Health and Life Sciences. ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. There are over 2.75 million articles from 1994 to the present.
- Why Files
Science behind the news. Maintained by the University of Wisconsin.