Skip to main content

Research and Writing: Electronic Resouces

A catalog of tips, tricks, and hints for the practice of research and writing.

Dissertations & Theses

Published
Shimpalee, P. (2004). The contribution of economic and institutional factors to currency crises: Additional evidence from Asia,

Europe and the western hemisphereDissertation Abstracts International. Retrieved from ProQuest Digital Dissertations.

(ATT 3142857)

Unpublished
Schar, A. M. (2002). Development of a program to support faculty in the creation of online courses at Saddleback College.

Unpublished doctoral dissertation, Nova Southeastern University, Fort Lauderdale, FL. (ERIC Document Reproduction

Service No. ED474591) Retrieved from ERIC database.

Electronic Book

Hüfner, S. (Ed.). (2007). Very high resolution photoelectron spectroscopy. Retrieved from http://springerlink.com 

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Boaz, M. (2003). Censorship. In Encyclopedia of library and information science. Retrieved from

http://www2.dekker.com/

Smuggle. (n.d.). In Oxford English dictionary. Retrieved from http://dictionary.oed.com/entrance.dtl

Journal Articles & Magazines (Internet Journal)

Moore, R.S., Ames, G. M. & Cunradi, C. B. (2007). Physical and social availability of alcohol for young enlisted naval

personnel in and around home port. Substance Abuse Treatment, Prevention, and Policy, 2. Retrieved from

http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/articlerender.fcgi?artid=1934352

Plagens, P. (2007). Tender was the night. Newsweek. Retrieved from 

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/19875402/site/newsweek/

Journal Articles & Magazines (Library Database)

 

Alterations, no page numbers

Jones, J., Myerscough, M., Graham, S., & Oldroyd, B. (2004). Honey Bee Nest Thermoregulation: Diversity Promotes Stability. Science, 305(5682), 402-404. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.

Dyball, R., Baker, K., Lye, B., Miller, E., & Perry, S. (2007). WORLD PARTY. People, 68(4), 111-112. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.. 

Article with DOI (Digital Object Indentifer) assigned

Feiring, C., Simon, V., & Cleland, C. (2009). Childhood sexual abuse, stigmatization, internalizing symptoms, and the development of sexual difficulties and dating aggression. Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 77(1), 127-137. doi:10.1037/a0013475

Article with no DOI (Digital Object Indentifer) assigned

Author(s) (Date). Title of Article. Journal Title, Volume(Issue), Page numbers. Retrieved from URL is optional depending on requirement of faculty member.

Newspapers Online & Library database

Basken, P. (2007). Nonprofit lenders, while helping students, help themselves. The Chronicle. Retrieved from  http://chronicle.com/weekly/v53/i49/49a01401.htm

Hoge, W. (1997). Diana, Princess of Wales, 36, Dies in a Crash in Paris: The end of a storybook life that veered from glamor to scandal and, finally, to divorce. New York Times 31. Retrieved from ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2003) database.

Webpage

American Memory, Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers Project 1936-1938. (2001). Voices and faces from the collection "Sarah Gudger, Age 121." Retrieved from http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/snhtml/snvoices03.html

Intranet

Note from APA:

Find the information on the organization’s public website and reference that. If you can only find it on their intranet site, then use the same format you would for a document retrieved from an Internet website (see Examples 31 -34 on pp. 205-206 of the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual):

Author, A. A. (date). Title of work (any identifying document number) Retrieved from Name of Organization intranet site: [list url here—it should probably be a regular url just without the www]

For example,

Name of Organization. (2010). Mission statement of Name of Organization. Retrieved from http://etc