Skip to main content

Library Departments: Other collections

Explains the services offered throughout the Library by various departments.

Search Library Catalog

Children’s Ministry Resources

The Mack Library provides children’s ministry resources for students or faculty/staff outreach opportunities. These resources include missionary story visuals, Bible song visuals, flannel graph story sets, puppets, Sunday School curriculum, and more. These resources are located on the second floor near the textbooks.

All items in the collection are available for checkout and may be renewed twice.

Puppets are stored separately and are available for pick up at the circulation desk.

Juvenile Collection

The purpose of the Juvenile Collection is to provide noteworthy children’s books as a resource for teacher education majors in the comparison and study of children and adolescent literature.  The collection includes books from a variety of publishers and books recognized on lists such as Newbery Medal and Honor Books, Caldecott Medal and Honor Books, and American Library Association Notable Books.

The collection is available for adults to borrow for young readers.  However, not all books in the collection are suitable for young readers since their primary purpose is an instructional instrument on the collegiate level.

Seminary Reference Collection

This collection serves primarily as a convenience of our Seminary students and primarily consists of duplicate religious reference items (i.e., commentaries, concordances, study aids, etc.) also available in the Mack Library.  These materials are housed in the Reading Room of the Bob Jones Jr. Memorial Seminary & Evangelism Center.

Specialized Art Reference & Periodical Collection

This collection consists of a large assortment of catalog raisonnes, exhibition catalogs, and art reference books focusing on Western European Old Master painters. Multi-volume encyclopedic sets on European painting as well as auction catalogues from Sotheby's and Christie's are well represented going back to the mid-twentieth century and earlier.  These materials are included in the Mack Library catalog and housed at the BJU Museum & Gallery.  Inquiries to use these items in the Mack Library should be made at the Circulation Desk and will be delivered within 24 hours.

Textbook Collection

The Textbook Collection includes instructional materials and textbooks for K-4 through grade 12 from the BJU Press and items approved by the South Carolina Department of Education (SCDE) for public schools.  The collection is a resource for teacher education majors and the October annual public review the SCDE conducts of recommended items by the Instructional Materials Review Panels.  The purpose of the review is to solicit citizen input regarding the potential materials to be included on the state adopted list.  Generally past editions are kept until newer editions are published.  Items from the Textbook Collection may be loaned for 3 days.