Skip to main content

Rare Bibles at Mack Library: Special Collections

Lists rare Bibles stored in the Library's Jerusalem Chamber and Special Collections.

Rare Bibles in Special Collections

Although the Special Collections room is locked, Library staff will be happy to let you look at books in the room as long as you follow a few general guidelines:

  • Check the library catalog to see if copies of the book you want are available in the "Stacks," the Library's circulating collection. If an item is available in Special Collections and the Stacks, you should use the copy in the Stacks first. Check the catalog record for any item in this list by clicking on the call number.
  • No Special Collections book may be removed from the room.
  • Some items in the collection must be handled with gloves, which are provided.
  • Library staff may give you additional instructions specific to your request.

Bible. Latin. ca. 1454-55. Mainz. Gutenberg (42 lines) 1968 Bible. Latin. ca. 1454-55. Mainz. Gutenberg (42 lines) 1968;Gutenberg Bible. [New York : Brussel & Brussel, 1968] [220 B471gu]
Cover title.;Reduced facsim.;[v. 1-2] The Old Testament -- [v. 3] The New Testament.

Bible. N. T. Greek. 1864. Bible. N. T. Greek. 1864.;Novum Testamentum graece antiquissimorum codicum textus in ordine parallelo dispositi accedit collatio codicis sinaitici / edidit Edvardus H. Hansell. Oxonii : E typographeo Clarendoniano, 1864. [225.4 H198]
The text of various Greek MSS. in four parallel columns spread across two pages.;v. 1. Evangelia.--v. 2. Acta. Epp. Cath. Epp. Paul. Apocal.--v. 3. Praefatio. Notae. Appendices.

Bible. Danish. Madsen et al. 1589. Bible. Danish. Madsen et al. 1589.;Biblia, det er, Den gantske Hellige Scrifft : paa Danske igen offuerseet oc Prentet effter Salige oc Høylofflige ihukommelse Kong Frederichs den II Befalning met Register, Alle D. Lutheri Fortaler, Hans Udlegning i Brædden, oc Viti Theodori Summarier. Prentit in Kiøbenhaffn : Aff Matz Vingaardt, 1589, [1588] [220.53981 B471]
Bible (incl. O.T. Apocrypha) in Danish.;"Revision of the Bible of 1550 'Frederick II's Bible'"--IDC catalogue XII.1294 no. K772, p. 10.;The second Danish Bible, revised by Paul Madsen et al.;Imprint from colophon.;Darlow & Moule, 3156.;Includes translations of Luther's prologues and some of his notes.;In three parts, each with special pagination and title page at end of part 1 special date: 1588.;Full leather binding, panel stamped with blind tooling, metal clasps on cover, raised bands on spine.;United Bible Societies language: Danish.;On loan from Mr. and Mrs. Mark Ward, Sr.

Bible. Dutch. Statenvertaling. 1704. Bible. Dutch. Statenvertaling. 1704.;Biblia, dat is De gantsche H. Schrifture : vervattende alle de canonijcke boecken des Ouden en des Nieuwen Testaments / door last der Hoogh-Mog. Heeren Staten Generael van der Vereenighde Nederlanden, en volgens het besluyt vande Synode Nationael gehouden tot Dordrecht inde jaren 1618 ende 1619, uyt de oorspronckelicke talen in onse Nederlandtsche tale getrouwelick over geset. Dordrecht : By Hendrick, Jacob en Pieter Keuer en t'Amsteldam : By Pieter Rotterdam, 1704. [220.53931 B471]
Title within architectural border.;Descriptive text on verso of maps.;Volume 2 (The New Testament) and vol. 3 (Apocrypha) have special t.p.'s The Prophets has half-title and separate paging only.;Reprint of the ed. Amsterdam, 1657.

Bible. English, 1717. Authorized. Bible. English, 1717. Authorized.;The Holy Bible, containing the Old Testament and the New : newly translated out of the original tongues : and with the former translations diligently compared and revised. Oxford : printed by John Baskett, printer to the King's most Excellent Majesty, 1717. [220.5203 B471v]
By His Majesty's special command. Appointed to be read in churches.;"Familiarly known as 'the Vinegar Bible,' from the most famous of its several typesetting errors. At the top of the page containing the twentieth chapter of the Book of Luke, with its parable of the vineyard, the typesetter inadvertently set the page-head to read 'The parable of the vinegar.'" - Library of Virginia.;Includes Apocrypha.;"Sarah Brown born February 7th, 1735. Sarah Brown her poor unfortunate mother died in child-bed Feb. 10, 1735." - Typescript note with J.S. Mack Library's copy of this Bible.;History of J.S. Mack Library copy: "Sarah Brown, born February 7th, 1735, was married into the Fludd family in Oxford, England, and came to Charles Town (Charleston), South Carolina, in the mid seventeen hundreds. John Fludd Mitchell, first realtor of Greenville, South Carolina, moved from Charleston in 1881. The following year he was married to Ellen Livingston Swinton of Charleston. There were no children from this union. Their beloved great nephew Mitchell Lowry, son of Jennie Clement King of Charleston and Leon Mitchell Lowry of Atlanta, received the Bible in 1937 at the death of John Fludd Mitchell. On December 24, 1965, the Bible was most gratefully and lovingly accepted by Ruby Carlton Estes, wife of Joseph O. Estes and mother of Lyn Carlton and Amy Jo Estes, grandmother of Joseph O. Estes II. [signed] Ruby C. Estes." - Typescript note with J.S. Mack Library's copy of this Bible.

Bible. English. 1781. Bible. English. 1781.;The Holy Bible, containing the Old Testament and the New: translated out of the original tongues, and with the former translations diligently compared and revised, by his Majesty's special command : Appointed to be read in churches. Oxford : Printed at the Clarendon press, by W. Jackson and A. Hamilton, printers to the University and sold at the Bible Warehouse, Paternoster-Row, London, 1781. [220.5203 B471h]
Vol. 1 Genesis & Exodus--Vol. 2 Leviticus - Samuel--Vol. 3 Kings to Isaiah--Vol. 4 Jeremiah - Revelation.

Bible. English. 1843. Glasgow. Bible. English. 1843. Glasgow.;The Holy Bible, containing the Old and New Testaments, according to the authorised version / with explanatory notes, practical observations, and copious marginal references by Thomas Scott. Glasgow : Mackenzie, White, & Co., 1843. [220.7 B47115s]
Added t.p. in vols. 1 and 2: Scott's commentary on the Old and New Testaments.;New Testament (v.3) has special title page but no vol. 3 designation. However, the last page of Malachi states "End of volume II" at the bottom.;v. 1. Genesis-Song of Solomon -- v. 2. Isaiah-Malachi -- v. 3. Matthew-Revelation. Vol. 2 and Vol. 3 are combined into one physical volume.;Vol. 2-3 have imprint: Glasgow, Edinburgh, and London : printed by William Mackenzie, for Blackie & Son [without date].

Bible. English. 1957. Lamsa. Bible. English. 1957. Lamsa.;The Holy Bible from ancient Eastern manuscripts : Containing the Old and New Testaments / translated from the Peshitta, the authorized Bible of the church of the East, by George M. Lamsa. Philadelphia : A. J. Holman Co., 1957. [220.5209 B471L]
Syriac word and symbol for the triune God at head of title.;Copy 2 and 3 are in Special Collections.;Copy 2 is leather bound copy 3 is hard bound.;"A Limited Edition of 2000 copies of this book has been printed and bound. This is copy number 1187 of the First Edition" --front fly leaf of copy 2.;Copy 2 is gift of Mrs. E. Paul Waggoner (Santa Rosa Ranch, Vernon, TX).;On the front fly leaf of copy 3 is a handwritten note to Dr. Bob Jones Sr. by Harry Stanley and dated May 13, 1959.

Bible. English. 1959. Authorized. Bible. English. 1959. Authorized.;The Holy Bible : containing the Old and New Testaments in the authorized King James version. New York : Abradale Press, [1959?] [220.5203 B471r]
Includes Bible Readers' Aids, among which are: How to study the Bible by Dwight L. Moody From Malachi to Matthew by B. J. Fernie Jewish sects and their beliefs by George H. Sanderson.;Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Shafford Lasley (Langdale, AL).

Bible. English. Authorized. Bible. English. Authorized.;The Companion Bible : being the authorized version of 1611 with the structures and notes, critical, explanatory and suggestive and with 198 appendixes. London New York : Oxford University Press, [1932?] [220.5203 B471co]
Published originally in six parts... the text is that of the authorized version of 1611 as published by the revisers in their 'Parallel Bible. - Pref.;Includes an index to the appendixes.

Bible. English. Authorized. Bible. English. Authorized.;The Holy Bible, containing the Old and New Testaments : the text carefully printed from the most correct copies of the present authorized translation, including the marginal readings and parallet texts. With a commentary and critical notes designed as a help to a better understanding of the sacred writing / by Adam Clarke.] [S.l : s.n., 1817] [220.7 C55, 1817]
v. 12. I Thessalonians through Revelation.;On spine: Clarke's commentary.;Library's copy has title page missing.;Gift of Dr. Bob Jones, Jr.

Bible. English. Authorized. 1771. Bible. English. Authorized. 1771.;The Holy Bible, containing the Old Testament and the New, with the Apocrypha translated out of the Original Tongues, with annotations. Birmingham : Printed by John Baskerville, M. DCC. LXIX, M. DCC. LXXI. [220.5203 B471bas]
Gift of Richard Gehman (Minneoloa, FL). Local contact: Gilbert Misner (Seneca, SC).;J.S. Mack Library copy is not the entire Bible. It has been rebound and runs from Psalm 142 - end.;The King James Version.;Includes the O.T. Apocrypha.;The N.T. has special t.p. and date: The New Testament of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, translated out of the Original Tongues, with annotations ... Birmingham ... M. DCC. LXXI.;Text ends on 13 K a.;Text printed in verse form, double column, verse nos. indented in matching type. Title centered at top of page. Chapter no. centered in column. Italic chapter summaries. References at the bottom of page. Bold-face type initials indented over 3 lines at the beginning of books and over 2 lines at the beginning of chapters.;Frontispiece signed: "F. Hayman inv. et del.";Includes: "The Names and Order of all the Books ... " O.T. Apocrypha N.T. Tables.;United Bible Societies language: English.;Herbert, 1210.;BM, 3040. t. 3.

Bible. English. Authorized. 1791. Bible. English. Authorized. 1791.;The Holy Bible, containing the Old and New Testaments: translated out of the original tongues and with the former translations diligently compared and revised / carefully perused and enlarged by John Downame. Trenton : Printed and sold by Isaac Collins, 1791. [220.5203 B471do]
New Testament has special t.-p.;"Apocrypha" bound in at end of Old Testament "Index" at end of New Testament.;"A brief concordance or table to the Bible of the last translation ..." has special t.-p.'s.

Bible. English. Authorized. 1795. Bible. English. Authorized. 1795.;The Holy Bible : containing the Old and New Testaments / translated out of the original tongues, and with the former translations diligently compared and revised by His Majesty's special command appointed to be read in churches. Edinburgh : Printed by Mark and Charles Kerr ..., 1795. [220.5203 B471au, 1795]
Signatures: [A]⁸ B-2P⁸ 2Q⁵ [2nd]A-S⁴ [2Q]³ 2R-2Z⁸ 3A-3E⁸ 3F-3G⁴;With Apocrypha, colophon dated 1798.;New Testament has special t.p. dated 1795, and is followed by index and tables.;On loan from Mr. and Mrs. Larry Woods.

Bible. English. Authorized. 1812. Bible. English. Authorized. 1812.;The self interpreting Bible : with an evangelical commentary / by the late Rev. John Brown. London : R. Evans, 1812. [220.5203 B471se]
In double columns.;Contains Apocrypha.;Includes: An introduction A chronological index of Scripture history and, Chronological tables.;"This London edition of the Self-interpreting Bible, being correctly printed from the original, is published with the approbation and recommendation of the sons of the much esteemed author: The Rev. John Brown...The Rev. Ebenezer Brown...and also by [other] ministers." --p. [35]

Bible. English. Authorized. 1823. Bible. English. Authorized. 1823.;The Holy Bible, containing the Old and New Testaments : the text printed from the most correct copies of the present authorized translation including the marginal readings and parallel texts with a commentary and critical notes designed as a help to a better understanding of the sacred writings / by Adam Clarke. New York : N. Bangs and J. Emory, 1823-1827 [220.7 C55, 1827]
Spine title: Clarke's commentary.;"...for the Methodist Church, at the Conference Office, 13 Crosby Street"--t.p., publisher's imprint.

Bible. English. Authorized. 1824. Bible. English. Authorized. 1824.;The Holy Bible : containing the Old and New Testaments, according to the authorized version : with explanatory notes, practical observations, and copious marginal references / by Thomas Scott. London : Printed for L.B. Seeley and Son, Hatchard and Son, and Baldwin, Cradock and Joy, 1824. [220.7 B471s]
On spine: Scott's Bible.;v. 1. Genesis-Judges -- v. 2. Ruth-Esther -- v. 3. Job-Song of Solomon -- v. 4. Isaiah-Malachi -- v. 5. Matthew-Acts -- v. 6. Romans-Revelation.

Bible. English. Authorized. 1830. Bible. English. Authorized. 1830.;The Holy Bible, containing the Old and New Testaments : translated out of the original tongues and with the former translations diligently compared and revised. New York : Stereotyped by A. Chandler for The American Bible Society, 1830. [220.5203 B471ab]
The New Testament has special t.p., p. 651.

Bible. English. Authorized. 1839. Bible. English. Authorized. 1839.;The English version of the polyglott Bible : containing the Old and New Testaments : with the marginal readings, together with a copious and original selection of references to parallel and illustrative passages, exhibited in a manner hitherto unattempted. Philadelphia : Thomas, Cowperthwait, 1839. [220.51 B471p]
The New Testament has special t.p., and each Testament has an engraved added t.p.;Preface signed: T. C. [i.e. Thomas Chevalier];"Stereotyped by L. Johnson.";Gift of Mrs. Dorothy A. Woodburn.

Bible. English. Authorized. 1846. Bible. English. Authorized. 1846.;The illuminated Bible : containing the Old and New Testaments, translated out of the original tongues, and the the former translations diligently compared and revised with marginal readings, references, and chronological dates, also the Apocrypha to which is added a chronological indes, and index of the subjects contained in the Old and New Testaments, tables of weights, coinss, measures, a list of proper names, a concordance, etc. New York : Harper & Brothers, 1846, c1843. [220.5203 B471i]
An illustrated shortened title page with only the words "The Holy Bible" is in part 1 A detailed title page is in part 2 The Apocrypha also has a detailed title page.;"Embellished with sixteen hundred historical engravings by J.A. Adams, more than fourteen hundred of which are from original designs by J.G. Chapman" -- t.p.;Includes the Apocrypha.;Part 1 contains Genesis through Numbers. Part 2 contains Deuteronomy through I Chronicles. Part 3 contains II Chronicles through Solomon's Song. Part 4 contains Isaiah through Malachi. Part 5 contains The New Testament. Part 6 contains the Apocrypha.

Bible. English. Authorized. 1849. Bible. English. Authorized. 1849.;The Holy Bible : containing the Old Testament and the New, translated out of the original tongues, and with the former translations diligently compared and revised. Portland : Sanborn & Carter, 1849. [220.5203 B471e]
Added title-page, engraved, has title: Everlasting gospel, and date: 1847.;New Testament has special title-page.;Gift of Mrs. Dorothy A. Woodburn.

Bible. English. Authorized. 1855. Bible. English. Authorized. 1855.;The Holy Bible, containing the Old and New Testaments : translated out of the original tongues : and with the former translations diligently compared and revised. [London] : Printed at the University Press, 1855. [220.5203 B471ox]
Gift of Mr. & Mrs. Bud Ivy (Ellsworth C. and Margaret Schmidt Ivy).;Authorized version.;Includes A collection of Wesley's hymns (words only)

Bible. English. Authorized. 1857. Bible. English. Authorized. 1857.;The Holy Bible : containing the Old and New Testaments : translated out of the original Greek and with the former translations diligently compared and revised, by His Majesty's special command. Appointed to be read in churches. Printed by authority. Edinburgh : printed for Cowan and Co., 1857. [220.5203 B471au 1857]
Gift of Marion Lang (El Cajon, CA).;Special Collections copy missing title page, first 13 pages, and last 4 pages.;Special Collections copy had been rebound with spine title : Bible Thoughts / by Melvill.;Followed by a Scottish version of the Psalms of David in metre, dated 1857, and by Translations and paraphrases in verse, dated 1857.

Bible. English. Authorized. 1859. Bible. English. Authorized. 1859.;The comprehensive commentary on the Holy Bible : containing the text according to the Authorized version Scott's marginal references Matthew Henry's commentary, condensed, but retaining every useful thought the practical observations of Thomas Scott, with extensive explanatory, critical, and philological notes, selected from Scott, Doddridge ... and many other writers on the Scriptures. The whole designed to be a digest ... of the best Bible commentaries / Edited by William Jenks. Philadelphia : American Pub. Co., 1887. [220.7 B471j]
[v.1] Genesis-Judges.--[v.2] Ruth-Psalm 63.--[v.3] Psalm 64-Malachi.--[v.4] Matthew-John.--[v.5] Acts-Revelation.

Bible. English. Authorized. 1859? Bible. English. Authorized. 1859?;The self-interpreting Bible : containing the Old and New Testaments according to the Authorized version : with an introd., marginal references and illus., a summary of the several books, an analysis of each chapter, a paraphrase and evangelical reflections upon the most important passages, and numerous explanatory notes / by John Brown. New York : Johnson, Fry, [1859?]. [220.5203 B471se, 1859]
Added decorative t.p.: Brown's Self Interpreting Bible : the opening of the Law.;New Testament has separate t.p.;Date from Hills, Margaret T. The English Bible in America, p. 249.;Publisher for copy 2 is Martin, Johnson and Company.;Engraved on cover of copy 1: Ida Mabrey.;Engraved on cover of copy 2: A & M.A. Hay.

Bible. English. Authorized. 1863. Bible. English. Authorized. 1863.;The Holy Bible : containing the Old and New Testaments : translated out of the original tongues and with the former translations diligently compared and revised : prepared for manuscript notes and with index. London : George E. Eyre and William Spottiswoode, 1863. [220.5203 B471ey]
Loaned to J.S. Mack Library in 2000 by Dr. Alton Wagner (1945-2010) (Mt. Pleasant Mills, PA). Currently on loan from Dr. Wagner's daughter, Deborah Wagner Leaverton (Sioux City, IA);Date from t.p. of "The Psalms of David in metre" section.;Wide margin for notes.;Text surrounded by red lines "in order to keep the notes distinct from the text.";This Bible was given to Miss Anna Mary Livingstone, daughter of David Livingstone, by D.L. Moody and his wife in 1874. The Bible contains many personal notes by Miss Livingstone regarding her father's funeral, pressed flowers, and two newspaper clippings. - Letter from Dr. Alton Wagner.;Preface -- Index of notes -- [The Bible] -- The Psalms of David in metre : according to the version approved by the Church of Scotland and appointed to be used in worship -- Translations and paraphrases in verse of several passages of sacred scripture / collected and prepared by a committee of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland, in order to be sung in churches -- Hymns.

Bible. English. Authorized. 1864. Bible. English. Authorized. 1864.;The Holy Bible : with a devotional and practical commentary / by R. Jamieson and E.H. Bickersteth. London : J.S. Virtue, [ca. 1864?] [220.7 B471ja]
Old and New Testaments have special title pages.;A practical and explanatory commentary on the Old Testament, by Robert Jamieson. - A practical and explanatory commentary on the New Testament, by Edward Henry Bickersteth

Bible. English. Authorized. 1866. Bible. English. Authorized. 1866.;The Holy Bible, containing the Old and New Testaments : translated out of the original tongues and with the former translations diligently compared and revised. New York : American Bible Society, 1866. [220.5203 B471ab, 1866]

Bible. English. Authorized. 1885. Bible. English. Authorized. 1885.;The Holy Bible : containing the authorized and revised versions of the Old and New Testaments, arranged in parallel columns. A complete concordance. Comprehensive Bible dictionary...a concise history of all religious denominations and many other important and useful aids... / by...Alfred Nevin...[et al.]. Boston : Gately & Co., c1885. [220.5203 B471p]
At head of title: The parallel Bible.;Spine title: The parallel Bible.;Contents: Religious denominations, their history and creeds Science and revelation, or, the triumph of the Bible over criticism Biographical sketches of the translators and reformers...who rendered the Bible into the English language A comprensive and illustrated history of the books of the Old and New Testaments... Historical illustrations of Bible text derived from ancient coins and gems... Chronological and miscellaneous tables Comprehensive dictionary of the Bible... Apocrypha Parables of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, unfolded and illustrated ;Contents (con't): The lives, transactions, sufferings and martyrdoms of the Holy Apostles and Evangelists of our Saviour Jesus Christ Scenes and events in the life of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ Chronological index to the Holy Bible Bible text-book Four thousand questions and answers on the Old and New Testaments The Psalms of David in metre Cruden's complete concordance to the Old and New Testament.;Gift of Rose Marie Purvis (Winston-Salem, NC).

Bible. English. Authorized. 1909. Bible. English. Authorized. 1909.;The Bible and its story / edited by Prof. Charles F. Horne, Rev. Prof. Julius A. Brewer. New York : Francis R. Niglutsch, 1909. [220 B471bw]

Bible. English. Authorized. 1932. Bible. English. Authorized. 1932.;The Holy Bible : containg the Old and New Testaments, translated out of the original tongues and with the former translations diligently compared and revised. The text conformable to that of the edition of 1611, commonly known as the Authorized or King James' version. Marginal references. Philadelphia : A.J. Holman Co., 1932. [220.5203 B471m]
On spine: Masonic edition.;Contains a Masonic Memorial to George Washington, a plate showing the structure of Freemasonry, Masonic Creed, Masonic ritual, questions and answers pertaining to the symbolism of Masonry, and history and facts concerning the Order of the Eastern Star.;Also contains The first authentic restoration of King Solomon's temple and citadel History of Ruth History of David History of Solomon Introductory history of the Holy Bible The temple library and school at Nippur, Babylonia A self-pronouncing dictionary of Scripture proper names Religious denominations of the world Science and revelation or The triumph of the Bible over criticism Testimony for the Bible Scripture difficulties explained A chronological index to the Holy Bible A new self-pronouncing dictionary of the Bible Summary of Biblical antiquities Helps to students of the Bible and, Concordance to the Old and New Testaments.;Gift of Miss Anna P. Koch (Leesburg,

Bible. English. Authorized. 1959. Bible. English. Authorized. 1959.;The Holy Bible : containing the Old and New Testaments translated out of the original tongues and with the former translations diligently compared and revised. The Authorized King James version. New York : Abradale Press, [1959?] [220.5203 B471r 1959]
Includes lithographs and photomechanical reproductions of paintings by Rembrant Harmenszoon van Rijn with descriptive text about each painting.;Includes decorative pages for recording marriages, birth & etc. at from of Bible, and The Sermon on Mount on decorative pages between the Old and New Testaments.;Includes The List of Color Plates Biblical Encyclopedia, Concordance and Subject Index Bible Readers' Aids and Rembrandt as a Bible Illustrator.;The Bible Readers' Aids, among other aids, include How to study the Bible by Dwight L. Moody From Malachi to Matthew by B. J. Fernie Jewish sects and their beliefs by George H. Sanderson.;Gift of Fred Butler (Greenville, SC)

Bible. English. Authorized. 1999. Bible. English. Authorized. 1999.;The Holy Bible : containing all the books of the Old and New Testaments : King James version / designed & illustrated by Barry Moser. New York : Viking Studio, 1999. [220.52034 B471p]
The Viking Studio edition of the Pennyroyal Caxton Bible.;"Originally published in a limited letterpress edition by Pennyroyal Caxton Press, Inc."--T.p. verso.

Bible. English. Douai. 1884. Bible. English. Douai. 1884.;The Holy Bible : containing the entire cannonical scriptures according to the decree of the Council of Trent : translated from the Latin Vulgate ... : the Old Testament first published ... at Douay, A.D. 1609, the New Testament ... at Rheims, A.D. 1582 / with useful notes ... by ... Geo. Leo Haydock the text carefully collated ... and the annotations abridged by ... F.C. Husebenbeth ... to which is added an illustrated and comprehensive dictionary ... as revised by ... Richard Challoner with a comprehensive history of the books of the Holy Catholic Bible, and life of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Mother of Christ ... by Bernard O'Reilly ... the whole beautifully illustrated with numerous steel plates and other appropriate engravings. Baltimore, Md. : E. Gately & Co., c1884. [220.5202 B471d, 1884]
Some ill. are chromolithographs with gold.;N.T. has separate title-page.;Album for "Family portraits" ([4] p.) at end.;"Presented to Mr. Bob Jones by Mr. Henry B. Hardin Oct. 30, 1923, 129 W. 6th St., Covington, Ky." -- presentation page.

Bible. English. Geneva. 1608 Bible. English. Geneva. 1608;The Bible : that is, the Holy Scriptvres conteined in the Old and New Testament / translated according to the Ebrew and Greeke, and conferred with the best translations in diuers languages with most profitable annotations vpon all hard places, and other things of great importance. Imprinted at London : By Robert Barker, Printer to the Kings most Excellent Maiestie, 1608. [220.5201 B471ge]
Title within ornamental border.;New Testament has special t.p.: The New Testament of our Lord Iesvs Christ, translated out of Greeke by Theod. Beza with briefe summaries and exposition vpon the hard places by the said author, Ioac. Camer., and P. Loseler, Villerius. Englished by L. Tomson together with the annotations of Fr. Iunius vpon the Reuelation of S. Iohn.;'Cum priuilegio.";Includes Apocrypha.;Signatures: [par.]⁴, A-Z⁸, &⁶, 2A-2Z⁸, &&⁸, **⁴, 3A-3Q⁸, 3R⁴.;An edition of the Genevan version, known also as the "Breeches Bible" from the word "breeches" being used instead of "aprons" in Gen. iii, 7.;On spine of copy 2: The Breeches Bible;John 6:67 misprinted "Judas" for "Jesus".;Includes index.;Pages numbered on recto only with numerous errors inpaging.;With: The whole booke of Psalmes : collected into English meeter by Thomas Sternhold, John Hopkins and others... London : Company of Stationers, 1606.;Copy 1 is kept on display in Jerusalem Chamber.;Copy 2 was in very poor condition when given to the University with the following note: "This Bible was owned by the minister ever preached in Woodstock, Conn. The last print of this edition was over 400 years ago. This Bible now owned by Mrs. Eliza Allis of Hillsdale presented to her by Wm. Hubburt of New York.";c.2 contians only II Kings-Luke. I Chronicles 20 matches copy 1 exactly.;STC 2204

Bible. English. Geneva. 1998. Bible. English. Geneva. 1998.;The Bible and Holy Scriptvres conteyned in the Olde and Newe Testament : translated according to the Ebrue and Greke, and conferred with the best translations in diuers langages with moste profitable annotations vpon all the hard places, and other things of great importance as may appeare in the Epistle to the reader. [Owensville, Ohio] : Lazarus Ministry Press Columbus, Ohio : Vintage Archives, c1998. [220.5201 B471ge 1998]
Purchased from Dr. Gene Fisher.;"... digital reproduction of the Geneva 1560 Bible faithfully reproduced from one of the few surviving 1st ed., 1st printing texts"--t.p. verso.;Traditionally considered to have been edited by William Whittingham.;Leaves printed on both sides.

Bible. English. Vulgate. Bible. English. Vulgate.;The Holy Bible : translated from the Latin Vulgate : diligently compared with the Hebrew, Greek, and other editions, in various languages. The Old Testament was first published by the English College at Doway, A.D. 1609 and the New Testament, by the English College at Rheims, A.D. 1582. With annotations / By Dr. Challoner. New York : D. & J. Sadlier, [n.d.] [220.5205 B471c]
Together with references, and an historical and chronological index. t.p.;Includes "An illustrated Catholic dictionary of the Holy Bible.";Preface to "An illustrated Catholic dictionary of the Holy Bible" by Rev. James O'Leary.;Ornate heavy board covers are deeply engraved and with gold leaf.;Edges of the pages are gold gilted and engraved with artistic decorations.;Has wide metal closures which have cutout decorations.

Bible. French. 1820. Bible. French. 1820.;La Sainte Bible : qui contient le Vieux et le Nouveau Testament / imprimée sur l'edition de Paris, de l'année 1805. New York : Imprimé aux frais de la Société biblique americaine par Daniel Fanshaw, 1820. [220.541 B471]
Imprimé avec des planches solides.;N.T. has special t.-p. & separate paging.

Bible. German. 1756. Luther. Bible. German. 1756. Luther.;Biblia : das ist: Die ganze Heil. Schrift, Alten und Neuen Testaments, verdeutscht durch D. Martin Luther, mit dessen Vorreden randglossen, summarien und übrigen gewöhnlichen zusatzen begleitet, und mit symbolischen Kupfern, und einer Einleitung und Erklärung derselben mit grosser Schrift ausgefertiget. [Regensburg], 1756. [220.531 B471L 1756]
With Apocrypha in smaller type.;Six engraved plates inserted.;Text prefaced by: Privilegium, Zueignungsschrift, Vorbericht, subscriber list, Abhandlung ... der Bilder und Wortschrift ..., Register der Historien und Erklärung der frembden Nahmen, Register der vornehmsten haupt-urtickel Christlicher Lehre, and Register der ausgezogenen.;Old Testament has special half t.p. The Prophets and Apocrypha has special t.p. dated 1755. N.T. has special t.p. dated 1754.;New Testament followed by: Anweisung der ... Episteln und Evangelien, creeds, and Augsburg confession.;Bound in leather stamped in blind edges gilt and goffered remnants of clasps marbled endpapers.

Bible. German. Luther. Bible. German. Luther.;Biblia, das ist, Die ganze Heilige Schrift des alten und Neuen Testaments nach der deutschen Uebersetzung d. Martin Luthers mit eines jeden Capitels kurzen Summarien auch beygefuegten vielen aufs neue berichtigten Parallelen. Philadelphia : Gedruckt und zu haben bey Kimber und Scharpless, [1850?] [220.531 B471L, 1850]
New Testament has special t.-p.;Gift of Hazel Davis.

Bible. German. Luther. 1755. Bible. German. Luther. 1755.;Biblia, das is die ganze Heilige Schrift des Alten und Neuen Testaments : Wie solche von Herrn Doctor Martin Luther Seel. im Jahr Christi 1522 in unsere Teutsche Mutter-Sprach zu übersetzen angefangen, Anno 1534. zu End gebracht ... mit schönen Kupffern und Figuren ... gezieret ... / Samt einer Vorrede Herrn Johann Michael Dilherrns. Nürnberg : J. A. Endterschen Handlung Söhne, 1755. [220.531 B471L, 1755]
Pages after p. 1176 (Rev. 16:10) wanting.;Includes Apocrypha.

Bible. German. Luther. 1873. Bible. German. Luther. 1873.;Die Bibel : oder Die ganze Heilige Schrift des Alten und Neuen Testaments nach der deutschen uebersetzung Dr. Martin Luther's. Cöln : Britische und ausländische Bibelgesellschaft, 1873. [220.531 B471L, 1873]
New Testament has special t.-p.;Gift of Miss Elizabeth H. Treptow (Somerset, NJ). The Bible belonged to her mother, Christine Jurgensen, who was born in Schleswig-Holstein in 1863 and came to America about 1883 (per note sent with Bible).

Bible. German. Luther. 1907. Bible. German. Luther. 1907.;Die Bibel : oder die ganze Heilige Schrift des Alten und Neuen Testaments / nach der deutschen Übersetzung D. Martin Luthers. Kleinquartausgabe. Stuttgart : Privilegierte Württembergische Bibelanstalt, 1907. [220.531 B471L, 1907]
Spine title: Die Heilige Schrift;New Testament has separate title page.;Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Ulysses Lee (Waynesboro, Mississippi)

Bible. Greek. Codex sinaiticus. Bible. Greek. Codex sinaiticus.;Codex sinaiticus (4th century) : facsimile pages. London : Emery Walker, [19--]. [225.48 B471co]
Pages are backed with cloth.;Reproduction of the end of St. Luke and beginning of St. John.

Bible. Greek. Codex sinaiticus. Bible. Greek. Codex sinaiticus.;Codex Sinaiticus. Peabody, Mass. : Hendrickson Publishing Co. London : British Library, 2010. [220.48 C6487]
Number of pages from publisher website.;"The printed facsimile of Codex Sinaiticus is based on the digital photographs taken as part of the Codex Sinaiticus Project at the The British Library in London"--p. 5, Reference guide.;The Codex was hand-written in Greek by fourth-century scribes, only 300 years after the time of the New Testament, making it one of the earliest and most reliable witnesses to the biblical text. It contained the Old and New Testaments in Greek, the text adopted by early Greek-speaking Christians. The Codex was preserved for centuries at the monastery of St. Catherines, Mount Sinai, until Constantin von Tischendorf drew worldwide attention and notoriety to it in 1844. In the years following, its pages were divided and dispersed. Now, over 160 years later, after an extraordinary and historic collaborative effort by the British Library, the National Library of Russia, St. Catherine's Monastery, Leipzig University Library, and Hendrickson Publishers, all the extant pages of Codex Sinaiticus have been brought together in print form to a worldwide audience in this handsomely bound, one-of-a kind, facsimile edition. Drawing on the expertise of leading scholars, conservators, and curators, and painstakingly photographed using the latest high-quality digital technology and a careful imaging process, this facsimile provides a life-like view of the original pages of the Codex. The delicate beauty of this important text -- its parchment, inks, and scars, all visible in incredible detail -- allows the fascinating textual history of the Christian Bible to come alive in a fresh, meaningful way. The generous trim size, protective cloth covering, and slipcase make this facsimile an attractive part of any biblical scholars library. Accompanied by a 32-page booklet, the Codex would be a stunning addition to a church, university, or seminary library, as well as to a museum or personal collection. - Publisher.

Bible. Manuscripts, Greek. Codex alexandrinus. Bible. Manuscripts, Greek. Codex alexandrinus.;The Codex Alexandrinus : (Royal ms. 1 D v-viii) in reduced photographic facsimile. London : British Museum, 1909-1957. [220.48 B471]
In portfolio.;At head of title: British Museum.;Introduction signed: 1909-30, F. G. Kenyon 1936, H. J. M. Milne 1957, T. C. Skeat.;Volume 1 parts 1-4 contain the Old Testament volume 2 contains the New Testament.;Volume 2 is on display in the Jerusalem Chamber.;New Testament and Clementine epistles. 1909.--Old Testament: pt. I. Genesis-Ruth. 1915.--pt. II. 1 Samuel-2 Chronicles. 1930.--pt. III. Hosea-Judith. 1936.--pt. IV. 1 Esdras-Ecclesiasticus. 1957.

Bible. Manuscripts, Greek. N.T. Codex sinaiticus. Bible. Manuscripts, Greek. N.T. Codex sinaiticus.;Codex sinaiticus petropolitanus : New Testament, the Epistle of Barnabas and the Shepherd of Hermas preserved in the Imperial Library of St. Petersburg / now reproduced in facsimile from photographs by Helen and Kirsopp Lake, with a description and introd. to the history of the Codex by Kirsopp Lake. Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1911. [225.4 L148c]
The parts of the Codex sinaiticus containing the Old Testament were published by the same editors in 1922.

Bible. N. T. Greek. 1877. Bible. N. T. Greek. 1877.;Novum Testamentum graece / ad antiquissimos testes denuo recensuit delectuque critico ac prolegomenis instruxit Constantinus de Tischendorf. Lipsiae : J. C. Hinrichs Bibliopola, 1877. [225.4 B471t 1877]
Text in Greek.;Bibliographical footnotes.

Bible. N.T. Coptic. 1934. Bible. N.T. Coptic. 1934.;Pijom ǹte tidiathēkē mberi / ffirōous mmof nje pijinthōouti ǹremnkhēmi ǹorthodoxos Abnaa el Kanisa ḫen Misr. Cairo : Samir, 1934. [225.49 B47115]
Gift of Dr. Richard D. Patterson (Simpsonville, SC)

Bible. N.T. English (Middle English). Wycliffe. 1986. Bible. N.T. English (Middle English). Wycliffe. 1986.;The New Testament in English / translated by John Wycliffe MCCCLXXXII [i.e. 1382] revised by John Purvey MCCCLXXXVIII [i.e. 1388]. Portland, Or. : International Bible Publications, 1986 (Great Britain : Kingprint International) [225 B471wy]
Purchased from Dr. Gene Fisher.;"First exact facsimile of the the first English Bible with an introduction by Donald L. Brake, from Rawlinson 259 MSS. in the Bodleian Library, Oxford, England.";The mss. was written ca. 1430. Cf. p. xxiii.;"A limited edition of 999 numbered copies of this book have been printed"--P. [iv].;Library's copy is #938;Library's copy is bound in buckram and enclosed in a slipcase.;Includes bibliographical references (p. xix-xxii).;United Bible Societies language: English.

Bible. N.T. English. Bible. N.T. English.;[The New Testament] [S.l. : s.n.], n.d. [225.5203 B471n]
Library's copy is imperfect, pages following 366 are missing as is the title page.;Cover is black velvet.;Gift of Mrs. Dorothy A. Woodburn.

Bible. N.T. English. 1900. Bible. N.T. English. 1900.;The self-pronouncing New Testament of Our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ : the authorized or King James version of 1611. Philadelphia : A. J. Holman & Co., 1917, c1900. [225 B471sf]
On inside flyleaf is a printed message from the White House, Washington, dated 28 July 1917 and signed by Woodrow Wilson.;Library's copy is autographed by Homer Rodeheaver.;The front cover of Library's copy is detached.

Bible. N.T. English. American Revuised. 1901. Bible. N.T. English. American Revuised. 1901.;The new covenant commonly called the New Testament of Our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ / translated out of the Greek, being the version set forth A.D. 1611, compared with the most ancient authorities and revised 1881 A.D. New York : T. Nelson, 1901. [225.5204 B471n]
Newly edited by the New Testament members of the American Revision Committee, A.D. 1900.;Copy 2 is gift of Mrs. Dorothy A. Woodburn.

Bible. N.T. English. Authorized. 1851. Bible. N.T. English. Authorized. 1851.;Family Bible : the New Testament of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, with brief notes and instructions / by Justin Edwards. New York : American Tract Society, c1851. [225.5203 B471f]
Containing the references and marginal readings of the polyglot Bible.;Bound with the Book of Psalms of which the pages are numbered 665-766.

Bible. N.T. English. Authorized. 1857. Bible. N.T. English. Authorized. 1857.;The New Testament of Our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ : The text carefully printed from the most correct copies of the present authorized translation, including the marginal readings and parallel texts: with acommentary and critical notes designed as a help to a better understanding of the sacred writings / by Adam Clarke ... New York : Carlton & Porter, 1857. [225 B471cL]
I. Matthew to the Acts.--II. Romans to the Revelations.;Gift of William Ashley (Endicott, NY);Library has only volume 2.

Bible. N.T. English. Authorized. 1868. Bible. N.T. English. Authorized. 1868.;The New Testament of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ : translated out of the original Greek and with the former translations diligently compared and revised. New York : American Bible Society, 1868. [225 B471ab]
Gift of Mrs. Dorothy A. Woodburn.;Library's copy was rebound in 1933.

Bible. N.T. English. Authorized. 1868. Bible. N.T. English. Authorized. 1868.;The New Testament of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ : translated out of the original Greek and with the former translations diligently compared and revised. New York : American Bible Society, 1868. [225.5203 B471a]
Gift of Mrs. Dorothy A. Woodburn.

Bible. N.T. English. Authorized. 1870. Bible. N.T. English. Authorized. 1870.;The New Testament of Our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ : translated out of the original Greek : and with the former translations diligently compared and revised, by His Majesty's special command : appointed to be read in churches. Oxford [Oxfordshire] : Printed at the University Press, 1870. [225.5203 B471]

Bible. N.T. English. Authorized. 1941. Bible. N.T. English. Authorized. 1941.;The New Testament of Our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ : conformable to the edition of 1611, commonly known as the authorized or King James version. Philadelphia : National Bible Press, 1941. [225.5203 B471gi]
Title on cover: New Testament Psalms Proverbs;"Made especially for the Gideons.;Copy 1 has printing date of 1956 copy 2 has printing date of 1960.

Bible. N.T. English. Authorized. 1953. Bible. N.T. English. Authorized. 1953.;Holy Bible [16 rpm phonograph records] [sound recording] : the complete New Testament. St. Joseph, Mich. : Audio Book Co., c c1953. [225 B47115]
Authorized King James version.;May be played on any 33 1/3 rpm record player using Audio Book adapter.

Bible. N.T. English. Tyndale. 1999. Bible. N.T. English. Tyndale. 1999.;The Newe Testament / yet once agayne corrected by Willyam Tindale, where unto is added a necessarye table, wherin easely and lightelye maye be foude any storye contaynd in the foure Euangelistes, and in the Actes of the Apostles. Columbus, OH : Lazarus Ministry Press : Vintage Archives, 1999. [225 B471ty, 1999]
Purchased from Dr. Gene Fisher.;"Tyndale New Testament, 1536"--T.p. verso.;Leaves printd on both sides.;Facsimile reprint. Originally published : [S.l. : s.n.], 1536.;Text in Gothic and Italic types.;United Bible Societies language: English.

Bible. N.T. English. Wesley. 1815. Bible. N.T. English. Wesley. 1815.;The New Testament : with an analysis of the several book and chapters / by the Rev. J. Wesley. New York : D. Hitt & T. Ware, 1815. [225.5209 B471wes]

Bible. N.T. French. Geneva. 1681. Bible. N.T. French. Geneva. 1681.;Le Nouveau Testament : c'est a dire. la nouvelle alliance de nostre Seigneur Iesvs Christ / le tout reveu & confere fur les textes Grecs, par les pasteurs & professeurs de l'Eglise de Geneve. A Geneve : pour Iean Anthoine Chovet, 1681. [225.541 B471f]
With: Les Pseaumes de David, mis en rime Francoise / para Clement Marot, et Theodore de Beze. A Geneve : pour Iean Anthoine Chouet, 1685.;Includes church rituals.;Psalms of David has a separate t.p.;Psalms of David includes music.;Psalms of David and church rituals have unnumbered pages.;Includes index for Psalms of David.

Bible. N.T. Gospels. Polyglot. Selections. 1904. Bible. N.T. Gospels. Polyglot. Selections. 1904.;The life and morals of Jesus of Nazareth : extracted textually from the Gospels in Greek, Latin, French, and English / by Thomas Jefferson. With an introduction [by Cyrus Adler] Chicago : Reproduced from the original volume by photographic process and published by Manz Engraving co., [1904?] [226 B471L]

Bible. N.T. Greek. 1641. Bible. N.T. Greek. 1641.;Hē Kainē Diathēkē = Novum Testamentum / ex regiis aliisque optimis editionibus hac nova expressum, cui quid accesserit, præfatio docebit. Lvgd. Batavorvm : Ex officina Elseveriorum, 1641. [225.48 B471gr]
Title in red and black.;Title proper romanized.;Elseviriana device on t.p.;Head and tail ornaments, initials.;The third Elzevier edition. The text closely follows the edition of 1633.;Bound in old brown calf.

Bible. N.T. Greek. 1841. Bible. N.T. Greek. 1841.;The English hexapla : exhibiting the six important English translations of the New Testament Scriptures, Wyclif, M.CCC.LXXX. Tyndale, M.D.XXXIV Cranmer, M.D.XXXIX Genevan, M.D.LVII Anglo-Rhemish, M.D.LXXXII Authorised, M.DC.XI. the original Greek text after Scholz, with the various readings of the textus receptus and the principal Constantinopolitan and Alexandrine manuscripts, and a complete collation of Scholz's text with Griesbach's edition of M.DCCC.V preceded by an historical account of the English translations. London : S. Bagster, 1841. [225 B471e]
Greek text at top of page, English versions below, arranged in six parallel columns spread across two pages.;"The 'Wiclif' follows a ms. representing the later Wycliffite version, which belonged ot the Duke of Sussex, and subsequently to the Earl of Ashburnham, The 'Tyndale' is a reprint of the edition of 1534 ... The 'Cranmer' is the first edition of the Great Bible, 1539 [ed. by Coverdale?] ... The 'Genevan' is Whittingham's Testament of 1557 ... The 'Anglo-Rhemism' is taken form the first edition of 1582... The 'Authorised' is apparently printed from a copy of the edition of 1613, 11." -- British and foreign Bible society. Historical catalogue.;"An historical account of the English versions of the Scriptures" (p. [1]-160) was written by S.P. Tregelles. cf. British and foreign Bible Society. Historical catalogue.

Bible. N.T. Greek. Palmer. 1881. Bible. N.T. Greek. Palmer. 1881.;The Greek Testament / with the readings adopted by the revisers of the Authorized Version. Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1881. [225.4 B471a]
Book in Special Collections is 24 cm.

Bible. N.T. John. English. 1873. Bible. N.T. John. English. 1873.;The Gospel according to Saint John. London : Sampson Low, 1873. [226.5 B471g]
On cover: Bida's illustrations.;Added half-title page in red and black within ornamental borders.

Bible. N.T. Latin. Vulgate. 1867 Bible. N.T. Latin. Vulgate. 1867;Novum Jesu-Christi Testamentum : ad exemplar vaticanum. Parisiis : Adrianus Le Clere, 1867. [225.47 B471n]
With: De imitatione Christi : libri quator. Edito nova. Parisiis : Adrianum Le Clere. 1867.

Bible. N.T. Luke. English, 1877. Bible. N.T. Luke. English, 1877.;The Gospel according to Saint Luke. London : Sampson Low, Marston, Searle and Rivington, 1877. [226.4 B471g]
On cover: Bida's illustration.;Added half-title page in red and black within ornamental borders.

Bible. N.T. Mark. English. 1875. Bible. N.T. Mark. English. 1875.;The Gospel according to Saint Mark. London : Sampson Low, 1875. [226.3 B471g]
On cover: Bida's illustrations.;Added half-title page in red and black within ornamental borders.

Bible. N.T. Matthew. English. 1874. Bible. N.T. Matthew. English. 1874.;The Gospel according to Saint Matthew. [With illustrations by Alexandre Bida and others.] London : S. Low, Marston, Low and Searle, 1874. [226.2 B471g]
On cover: Bida's illustrations.;Added half-title in red and black within ornamental border.;Each plate accompanied by guard sheet with descriptive letterpress.

Bible. N.T. Romans. English. 1832. Bible. N.T. Romans. English. 1832.;A commentary on the Epistle to the Romans : with a translation and various excursus / By Moses Stuart. Andover, Mass. : Gould & Newman New York : H. Griffin & Co., 1835. [227.1 B471st]
Bibliography: p. [683]-684.

Bible. O.T. Greek. Septuagint. 1665. Bible. O.T. Greek. Septuagint. 1665.;Vetus testamentum graecum : ex versione septuaginta interpretum. Catabrigiae : Excusum per Joannem Field, Typographum Academicum, 1665. [221.48 B471ve]
Jerusalem Chamber.

Bible. O.T. Greek. Septuagint. 1859. Bible. O.T. Greek. Septuagint. 1859.;Vetus Testamentum Graece juxta LXX interpretes / recensionem Grabianam ad fidem Codicis Alexandrini aliorumque denuo recognovit, Graeca secundum ordinem textus Hebraei reformavit, libros Apocryphos a canonicis segregavit Fridericus Field sumtibus Societatis de Promovenda Doctrina Christiana. Oxonii : Excudebat Jacobus Wright, 1859. [221.48 B471vet]
Preliminary matter in Latin text in Greek.;Added t.p. in Greek reads in part: Hē Palaia Diathēkē kata tous hebdomēkonta [romanized form];References: Darlow amd Moule, item 4865. Cf. item 4733.;"Apokrypha [romanized form]": p. 1-148 (last group);"Collatio recensionis nostrae cum textu Grabiano": p. 149-205.;"Loca Pentateuchi majoris momenti quae in Hebraeo non leguntur": p. 206-207.

Bible. O.T. Hebrew. 1892. Bible. O.T. Hebrew. 1892.;The holy Scriptures of the Old Testament : Hebrew and English. London : British & Foreign Bible Society, 1892. [221 B471e]
Added t.p. in Hebrew: Sefer Torah, Neviʼim u-Khetuvim. Which when literally translated is: The book of the law, the prophets, and the writings according to the Massoretic text.;Spine title: Old Testament, Hebrew & English.;Hebrew and English in parallel columns. The Hebrew text is edited by M. Letteris. The English text is the Authorized version.

Bible. O.T. Hebrew. 1912. Bible. O.T. Hebrew. 1912.;The book of the law, the prophets, and the writings according to the Massoretic text / proof read precisely by the noted scholar Meir Halevy Leteris. Berlin : Unger, 1912. [221 B471he]
Title page and entire text in Hebrew.;The Hebrew Bible is also known as The Holy Scriptures of the Old Testament.

Bible. O.T. Prophets. English. Noyes. 1837. Bible. O.T. Prophets. English. Noyes. 1837.;A new translation of the Hebrew prophets : arranged in chronological order / by George R. Noyes. Boston : J. Munroe, 1837-1843. [224 N875, vol. 3]
Editions vary.;v. 1. Joel Amos Hosea Isaiah and, Micah (2nd ed., with additions and corrections, 1843) -- v. 2. Nahum Zephaniah Habakkuk Obadiah Jeremiah Lamentations -- v. 3. Ezekiel Daniel Haggai Zechariah Jonah and, Malachi.;United Bible Societies language: English.;Library has only vol. 3.

Bible. O.T. Proverbs. English. Paraphrases. 1683. Patrick. Bible. O.T. Proverbs. English. Paraphrases. 1683. Patrick.;The Proverbs of Solomon paraphrased : with the arguments of each chapter which supply the place of a commentary / by Symon Patrick ... London : Printed by M. Flesher, for R. Royston ... , 1683. [223.7 P275]
Signatures: A?, (a)?, B-2P?.;References: Wing B2635.

Bible. O.T. Psalms. English. Bible. O.T. Psalms. English.;[Psalms] [S.l. : s.n., 1800?] [223.2 B471 1800]
J.S. Mack Library copy is missing title page and all pages through p. 12.

Bible. Polish. 1899. Bible. Polish. 1899.;Biblija swieta to jest wszystko pismo swiete starego i nowego testamentu. Z hebrajskiego i greckiego jezika na polski pilnie i wiernie przetlomaczona. Wieden : Nakladem Brytanskiego I Zagranicznego Towarzystwa Biblijnego, 1899. [220.591851 B471p]
Separately paged.;Old Testament--New Testament.

Bible. Polyglot. Bible. Polyglot.;Biblia sacra polyglotta : [textus archetypos versiones praecipuas ab ecclesia antiquitus receptas necnon versiones recentiores Anglicanam, Germanicam, Italicam, Gallicam, et Hispanicam complectentia Accedunt prolegomena ... / auctore S. Lee.] London : S. Bagster, [1831] [220.51 B471b]
Library has only volume 1.;Library's copy is missing title page and covers.

Bible. Polyglot. 1655. Bible. Polyglot. 1655.;Biblia sacra polyglotta : complectentia textus originales, Hebraicum, cum Pentateucho Samaritano, Chaldaicum, Graecum versionumque antiquarum, Samaritanae, Graecae LXXII Interp., Chaldaicae, Syriacae, Arabicae Aethiopicae, Persicae, Vulg. Lat. ... / edidit Brianus Waltonus. Londoni : Imprimebat Thomas Roycroft, 1655-l657. [220.51 B471]
The Biblical text is in volumes 1-5. Each text is accompanied by its own Latin translation.;The 6th volume contains critical essays, appendices, tables, variant readings, annotations and indexes.;Main title page is in vol. 6.;Title in vols. 1-5: Bibliorum sacrorum.;On spine of vol. 1: Walton.

Bible. Polyglot. 1890. Bible. Polyglot. 1890.;The Triglot Bible : comprising the holy scriptures of the Old and New Testaments in original tongues also the Septuagint, the Syriac (of the New Testament) and the Vulgate versions arranged in parallel columns / edited by several eminent biblical scholars. London : R.D. Dickinson, 1890. [220.51 B471t]
Gift of Dr. Richard D. Patterson (Greenville, SC).;Both volumes have an added t.p. in Latin: Biblia triglotta.;"The Masoretic notes are appended to the Old Testament.";"With a complete prolegomenon.";Cf. Darlow and Moule, no. 1472, the Hexaglot Bible. "A portion of this work, omitting the three modern versions, has been republished, more than once, under the title of the Triglot Bible.

Bible. Swedish. 1782. Bible. Swedish. 1782.;Biblia, thet är all then Heliga Skrift : Gamla oc Nya Testamentsens, på Swensko... Stockholm : Johan Georg Lange, 1782. [220.5397 B471]
Thet Nya Testamantet has separate t.p.;Prefaces to the Old and New Testaments.;Contains the Apocrypha.;Text printed in double colums.

Bible. Syriac. 1979. Bible. Syriac. 1979.;Ktabe qadiše : d-dyatiqe ʻatiqa w-ḥa(d)ta. [S.l., : s.n., 1823]. [220.43 B471]
Cover title.;Each section has special t.p.;Peshitta version in West Syrian script.;[Old Testament] -- [New Testament] (vocalized)].

Subject Guide

Patrick Robbins
Contact:
Information Services

Mack Library

864-370-1800 x. 6015
Website / Blog Page

License

Creative Commons License
This work by Duncan Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.

You may reproduce any part of it as long as credit is included.  I encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.

Technical Details

The process used to create the reference lists displayed on this LibGuide involves three major components:

  1. Finding and exporting the bibliographic records in Millennium using Create Lists
  2. Filtering, finalizing, and structuring the data in Excel 2007
  3. Converting the structured data into clean HTML with XSLT

Detailed explanations can be found at the link below.