Biblical Greek: Advanced Resources

Based on customer feedback, A Readers Greek New Testament now includes a new Greek font for easier reading along with other features that make this a time-saver for studying the Greek New Testament. Ideal for Greek students and pastors, A Readers Greek New Testament saves time and effort in studying the Greek New Testament. By eliminating the need to look up definitions, the footnotes allow the user to read the Greek text more quickly, focusing on parsing and grammatical issues. This revised edition offers the following features: New Greek font is easier to read; Footnoted definitions of all Greek words occurring 30 times or less; Mini-lexicon of all words occurring more than 30 times; Greek text underlying Todays New International Version; Footnotes offering comparisons with UBS4; 4 pages of full-color maps. - Publisher.

The Reader's Edition combines the Bible text of the latest edition of the UBS4 Greek New Testament, edited by Barbara Aland, et. al., with a running Greek-English Dictionary, compiled by Barclay M. Newman. Features include: Running dictionary providing translations of all vocabulary items occuring 30 times or less in the New Testament at the bottom of each page; Translations given according to context; Definitions of idiomatic word combinations; Grammatical analysis of all difficult verb forms; Reader-friendly layout enabling the reader to transfer easily from text to dictionary and vice versa; An appendix providing translations of all vocabulary items occuring more than 30 times in the New Testament; Maps from the UBS Greek New Testament. - Publisher.

Providing graded readings in Koine Greek from the New Testament, Septuagint, Apostolic Fathers, and early creeds, this unique text integrates the full range of materials needed by intermediate Greek students. Its many features include four helpful vocabulary lists, numerous references to other resources, assorted translation helps, a review of basic grammar and syntax, and an introduction to BDAG--the standard Greek lexicon.

Abridged version (with workbook) of Greek Grammar Beyond the Basics: An Exegetical Syntax of the New Testament

This work was created by Friedrich Blass, professor of classical philology at the University of Halle-Wittenberg, and was continued after his death by Albert Debrunner, professor of Indo-European and classical philology at the University of Bern until his retirement in 1954. The grammar has passed through ten editions from 1896 to 1960. Robert W. Funk, in translating this long-established classic, has also revised it and, in doing so, has incorporated the notes which Professor Debrunner had prepared for a new German edition on which he was working at the time of his death in 1958. Dr. Funk has also had the co-operation of leading British, Continental, and American scholars. The translation places in the hands of English-speaking students a book that belongs in their libraries and in the libraries of every theologian, philologist and pastor alongside the Gingrich-Danker Greek-English Lexicon. This grammar sets the Greek of the New Testament in the context of Hellenistic Greek and compares and contrasts it with the classical norms. It relates to the New Testament language to its Semitic background, to Greek dialects, and to Latin and has been kept fully abreast of latest developments and manuscript discoveries. It is at no point exclusively dependent on modern editions of the Greek New Testament text but considers variant readings wherever they are significant. It is designed to compress the greatest amount of information into the smallest amount of space consistent with clarity. There are subsections discussing difficult or disputed points and copious citations of primary texts in addition to generous bibliographies for those who wish to pursue specific items further.

...a perceptive and well written analysis of the syntax (grammatical structure) of New Testament (Koine) Greek. ...There is... creativity in their logical and practical approach in presenting the material. The volume is well-suited to teaching and learning.

Available in Reference and the Stacks for checkout.

The success which attended the Latin Graecitas Biblica from its first (1944) to its revised and enlarged fourth Edition (1960) suggested the advisability of an English translation. The purpose of the present treatise was not so much a purely scientific or philological one, as that of encouraging future ministers of the Word to have recourse to the original Greek text. This accounts for the multiplication of examples to illustrate the exegetical importance of the study of the Greek and also for the fact that attention has been given almost exclusively to points of syntax, morphology being relegated to a few remarks in the Conclusion (M. Zerwick S.J.).

This detailed work in Greek linguistics argues that the semantic category of synthetic verbal aspect provides a suggestive and workable linguistic model for explaining the range of uses of the tense-forms in Greek. The author addresses in particular those studying the hellenistic Greek of the New Testament, although those interested in Greek language from other periods, and in systemic linguistics and more general questions related to the study of ancient languages will benefit as well. This book will serve both as a textbook for advanced language classes, and as a reference tool for Greek language research.

Students of New Testament Greek face at least two major hurdles: building a working vocabulary necessary for effective exegesis, and learning to identify (parse) the plethora of grammatically fluctuating forms that appear in the biblical text. In Mastering New Testament Greek, the revised and expanded third edition of Mastering Greek Vocabulary, Thomas Robinson offers learners an inventive set of tools for meeting these challenges. At the heart of Robinson's ingenious vocabulary mastery system is the cognate group, in which Greek words are linked together according to the roots they share in common. By associating common Greek roots with the words that contain them, students are able to build a working vocabulary far more quickly than by merely learning a list of individual words. Mastering New Testament Greek provides additional vocabulary help by offering comprehensive lists of cognates, derivatives, suffixes, and prefixes that correlate Greek words with their English counterparts. Added features assist students to master common pronouns, adverbs, adjectives, and prepositions:

Building Your New Testament Greek Vocabulary provides students a user-friendly introduction to the basic vocabulary of New Testament Greek. Moves beyond rote memorization with a method based on how Greek words are built and related to each other. Other aids include: Memorable English derivatives, number of occurrences for each word learned, and lists taylored to what can be handled in a given session. Most helpful, the book is organized on the basis of word families and frequency.

Too few tools are available to help the beginning student of the Septuagint, the oldest Greek version of the Old Testament, mostly written in koine, the amalgam of Greek dialects that replaced classical Greek under the Roman Empire. This resource is designed to help students gain a better understa

Also available in an open online edition from TLG.

This lexicon contains an alphabetical arrangement of every Greek form found in the major printed editions of the Greek New Testament: UBS, Nestle-Aland, and the Majority Text. The book provides original definitions in modern English for each root word, and includes relevant grammatical information t

The Analytical Lexicon to the Greek New Testament was created to aid in the study of the Greek New Testament, using sophisticated computer resources to ensure an accurate, helpful, and in-depth analysis of the word forms that make up the New Testament. Its combination of features sets it apart from all previously published analytical lexicons: · Based on the UBS 3d edition (revised). · Includes both accepted and variant readings · Consistent with today's standard Greek lexicons · Gives the frequency of each inflected form, verse references for forms that occur only once · Includes Goodrick-Kohlenberger numbers for all words · Includes principal parts for all verbs · Contains a grammatical section with a discussion of paradigms and explanations as to why paradigms are formed as they are Most significantly, The Analytical Lexicon to the Greek New Testament is keyed to the author's Morphology of Biblical Greek, which explains in detail why some Greek words follow certain patterns and other Greek words follow seemingly very different patterns. The Analytical Lexicon to the Greek New Testament is more than a tool for quick reference--it provides the Greek student or scholar with an index to another body of literature.

Popularly known as BDAG.

In this new edition, every entry has been rechecked and revised: misspellings have been corrected; unnecessary duplicate entries have been removed; textual variants and alternative readings have been noted and identified; New Testament references have been added for similar and identical forms having two or more parsings; references to the numbering used in Strong's have been added to facilitate study and cross-referencing for the less technical user; and the introductory grammar section has been updated.

For over a century, "Thayer's" has been lauded as one of the best New Testament lexicons available. Both accessible and thorough, it is a work suited for the student of New Testament Greek. "Thayer's" provides dictionary definitions for each word and relates each word to its New Testament usage and categorizes its nuances of meaning. Its exhaustive coverage of New Testament Greek words, as well as its extensive quotation of extra-biblical word usage and the wealth of background sources consulted and quoted, render "Thayer's" an invaluable resource.

Series: Theological Dictionary of the New Testament (TDNT)

Designed for use in conjunction with the UBS 4 and NA27 Greek New Testaments. It arranges the different meanings od each Greek word according to its usage in the New Testament rather than listing the various meanings of words on the basis of traditional etymological methods. The Second Revision includes 1) Each definition of each word has been carefully reviewed and, where deemed necessary, revised 2) A system of cross-referencing between related Greek words has been introduced 3) As a didactic, mnemonic, and phonetic device, compound words are divided by small upright lines 4) The maps of the UBS Greek New Testament are include and 5) A sampling of some Greek NT words that share similar meanings is included as an appendix to the dictionary.

How do texts acquire meaning? How is the meaning communicated to the reader? The task of effective biblical interpretation begins with linguistics. In this introductory text on the use of linguistics in biblical interpretation, Peter Cotterell and Max Turner focus on the concept of meaning, the significance of author, text and reader, and the use of discourse analysis.

When first published in 1983, Biblical Words and Their Meaning broke new ground by introducing to students of the Bible the principles of linguistics, in particular, on lexical semantics -- that branch that focuses on the meaning of individual words. Silva's structural approach provides the interpreter with an important lexical tool for more responsible understanding of the biblical text and more effective use of standard exegetical resources. This revised edition includes a bibliographical essay by Silva, "Recent Developments in Semantics," and an appendix by Karen H. Jobes, "Distinguishing the Meaning of Greek Verbs in the Semantic Domain for Worship," that provides the reader with a substantive example of lexical study.

Introduces Greek students to the field of linguistics and shows how its findings can increase their understanding of the New Testament.

New Testament Greek for Preachers and Teachers is neither a grammar nor a handbook of forms. It is a book about exegesis and, to a lesser degree, exposition, and is designed for the Bible college student or seminarian who has a beginning-level knowledge of Greek. Windham provides a basic introduction to five areas-textual criticism, morphology, word and phrase studies, syntax, and discourse-where the study of Greek plays a significant role in the interpretive process.