Conservative viewpoints in articles - check Christian Periodical Index and the Fundamentalism File
ATLA will feature scholarly journals and often articles are more broad.
Select Advanced Search
Enter your keyword in the first open line
Select the subject field option or enter in the following lines terms which represent a desired perspective to your main topic. Entering additional terms will narrow your search for more specific and relevant articles.
In the EBSCO databases one may select a term in the Subject box in the left column of the search screen. Selecting a term form this box will limit thenumber of results.
Further limit the results by selecting full text or date ranges
When searching the Fundamentalism File, click the Advanced Search tab and enter words that you would expect to see in an abstract of the article.
Both ATLA and Christian Periodical Index are supported on the EBSCO platform and therefore both may be searched at the same time. However, certain features of ATLA would then not be available. Example: Scripture searching is available in ATLA, but not CPI
Religious & Theological Abstracts - For Scripture search click on the Advanced Search. Use numeric numbering for designating books with the same name. Ex 2 Sam, 1 Cor 15. Abbreviate or spell out the book name.
JSTOR will have limited access to recent years
Social issues and religion - check Guide to Social Science and Religion. No full text online.
Searching Religious Databases
Entering Terms – Options
Keyword approach - enter keyword inerrancy 421 matches
Subject approach - two methods
Select the Narrow by Subject in column on left of
Example: Bible-Inspiration lowers hits to 178
Select Search Field Option and scroll to SU = 8
Enter a term representing a perspective to the original
term. Ex Inerrancy, add authority on second line and other
terms in succeeding lines.
Entering additional terms as instructed above will narrow
the scope and thus limit the results
Selecting Full Text will limit the results to online full
Selecting a date range, publisher, peer reviewed or
publication type are further means of limiting results.
Before performing a search one may limit the search from
the initial search screen by placing a check in the boxes of
the limiters or entering information for some selections.
Personal Account and Use of Folders
Click “Sign in to my EBSCO Host” and your name,
and pin and other requested information
This personal account provides a place for storing your
research via the folders you can create
Click on the folder icon located by each articles that you
would like to read or store
Click on the folder icon at the top of the search screen
will retrieve the page for manipulation of your folders. Then
click on the link New Folder and create and name the folder.
You may create more than one folder.
Place a check in the box by any article on the page that
captured the articles of interest that you clicked on the
folder by the article in your search results.
Select “Move” to place articles that you check
in to the named or selected folder.
You can save searches and request alerts through your EBSCO
Click the Scriptures tab at the top of the page.
The books of the Bible are listed in Biblical order
Click on Expand link to proceed to chapter and then to
All Scripture connected with your topic will appear in the
Select the search history link located under the search
boxes in order to view previous searches, refine or combine
Click on the Publication tab at the top of the search
screen will enable one to select a specific magazine/journal
Enter the desired title and then click on “Search
within this publication”
One may then read articles if full text is available or
place search terms in the search fields to retrieve articles on
your topic from this publication only.
Select the Indexes tab to browse subjects, authors,
publications and more.
Click on the term for information notes
Place a check in the box of the term and click add to
search your selected term.
Christian Periodical Index
Search and limiting procedures are the same as in
Scripture searching, publication searching and indexes are
not available in CPI.
One can select “Choose databases” and search
both ATLAS and CPI at one time. However, the special features
of ATLAS are not available in the combination search.
Searches similar as the online catalog for the Mack Library
Generally one should use the Advanced Search
Since the cataloging information contains an abstract of
the article, one needs to consider the following.
In addition to the original search term for the
subject/topic, add words or phrases which may appear in an
abstract for the article
Descriptors portraying the view or presentation of the
article are in the abstract. Examples: Fundamental,
Biblical, Conservative, Liberal, Charismatic, Scholarly,
The articles are generally available both in the
Fundamentalism File and in the Periodical stacks.
Search in the advanced search mode
Place “ “ before and after a phrase should one
want the words located in adjacent position. Otherwise
retrieved articles will have either term
One may use the Boolean operators and limit by date range,
type of publication ..
One may also enter a search term and then select a category
of publications which will then serve as the source for the
In the results, the search terms are highlighted and one
can select the link for viewing pages having the search
Religious & Theological Abstracts
Search in the advanced mode for more options.
Menu provides for searching for all words, a phrase, at
least one word
May limit the search by author, date range, scripture
search and publication source
Scripture notations. Help screen for examples. Books with
first or second designation - 1 John 2:15
Abstract of the articles only in answers, no full text.
Four main classifications of articles. Theology, Biblical,
Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archives
Read full text articles from Biblical Archaeology Review,
Biblical Review, Archaeology Odyssey, and some of their
Select the title of publication, volume, issue, date OR
browse by publication
Search for articles, topics
Key word search or title
Enter search term in subject box or click on the
After clicking the subject link, an alphabetical list
of subjects appear.
Select the subject and submit. The term then goes to
the search box. Click search. This procedure is quicker
than the keyword approach.
Guide to Social Science and Religion in Periodical Literature
published by the National Periodical Library
Select Periodical Index link on the far left column
The above retrieves the Power Search menu for searching for
a term or phrase
Bibliographic citations only are retrieved
One may search the Triennial Index which will list all
subjects in alphabetical order and the bibliographic citations
under each topic
Theological Journals Online
Search for articles from title list of the
Author search for articles by specific author
General search box - enter term or phrase, chapters of the
Bible - place in single quotes
Search by verse - ineffective searching
CD ROM version - searching by verse performs