Skip to main content

Literature Resources: Reference

Resources available in Mack Library for students searching for Literature related research.

Reference

Recommended Sources

Please note: The following list is just a representation of the major works available for literature research.  There are many other books worthy of mention that have been omitted.  Use the keyword search to find books for your particular need.  (Not all of the literary criticism sources are found in Reference.  Many can be found in the stacks.)

BOOK REVIEWS

 

Book Review Digest

050 B644 R (1905—present)

Children’s Literature Review

028.5 C4375 R

Magill’s Literary Annual

803 M272 R

 

 

GENERAL WORKS ON LITERARY CRITICISM

Atlas of Literature

809 At65 R

Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism

001.3 C723 (stacks)

Contemporary Literary Criticism

809 C767 R (partial set)

Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism

801.9503 En195 R (2 vols)

Twentieth-century Literary Movements Dictionary

809.91 T9184 R

 

 

DICTIONARIES OF TERMS

 

Glossary of Literary Terms

803 Ab83 1993

NTC’s Dictionary of Literary Terms

803 M828

 

 

INDEXES

 

Literary Criticism and Authors’ Biographies

016.801 L712 RR

Magill’s Bibliography of Lit Crit

016.801 M272 RR

Literary Criticism Index

016.809 W431 R

Essay and General Literature Index

808.84 Es73 RR (15 vols)

MLA/PMLA (MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literature

Periodicals—index tables

An Analytical Index to American Literature

Periodicals—index tables

Humanities Index

Periodicals—index tables

COMPUTER RESOURCES

 

 

MLA

 

Academic Search Complete

 

 

Literature Resource Center

 

Scribner Writers Series (CDROM & Database)

 

Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry

 


 

http://vos.ucsb.edu/     (Web site)

 

http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit  (links to literature research sources)

 

 

BASIC REFERENCE SETS

 

Guide to English and American Lit

016.8 B319 R

Survey of American Lit

810.9 M272 R (8 vols)

Survey of World Lit

809 M272 R (8 vols)

MasterPlots

various

 CHARACTERS IN LITERATURE

Cyclopedia of Literary Characters

809 C9915 R (5 vols)

Dictionary of British Literary Characters

823.8092703 D561 R

Dictionary of Fictional Characters

803 F884 R

Dictionary of Who, What, and Where in Shakespeare

822.33 Sh153 (stacks)

MasterPlots Cyclopedia of Literary Characters

803 M272c R (2 vols)

 

 

PLOT SUMMARY

 

MasterPlots

Computer and Books

 

 

BIOGRAPHY (OF AUTHOR)

(Databases)

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

016.92 B5107 RR (separate index for writers)

Contemporary Authors and CA, New Revision

928 C767 (3 sets)

Something About the Author, biography and autobiography series

928 So54 R

Twentieth-Century Children’s Writers

928 T918 R

American Writers

928.1 Am35 R (several volumes)

British Writers

928.2 B777 R (several volumes)

European Writers

809.894 Eu74 R (14 vols)

Biography File

unique to J.S. Mack Library

CHILDREN’S LIT

 

Children’s Literature Review

028.5 C4375 R

Beacham’s Guide to Literature for Young Adults

028.162 B353 R (8 vols)

Major Authors and Illustrators for Young Adults

928 M288 R (6 vols)

See SATA, CA, BGMI

 

 

 

POETRY

 

Critical Survey of Poetry

809.1 C869 R

Epic and Romance Criticism

016.8 C6765e RR (2 vols)

Guide to American Poetry Explication

016.821 G94 RR (2 vols)

Guide to British Poetry Explication

016.821 M366 R (4 vols)

New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics

808.103 N42p 1993 R

Poetry Explication

016.821 Ar56 1980 RR

 

 

DRAMA

 

American Drama Criticism

016.812 P182 R

Critical Survey of Drama

809.2 C869 2002 R (7 vols)

McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama

809.203 M178 1984 R (5 vols)

 

 

SHORT STORY

 

Magill Critical Survey of Short Fiction

809.3 C869 1993 R (7 vols)

Magill Critical Survey of Long Fiction

809.3 C869L 2000  R (8 vols)

 

 

PERIODICAL TITLES (just a few)

 

American Literature

Comparative Literature

Theatre Journal

Victorian Studies

Ask for the subject notebook in Periodicals to find those journals relating to literature