This guide is primarily for students researching in Dietetics and provides a recommended list of resources that includes print materials, online databases, and selected websites.
The American Journal of Preventive Medicine is the official journal of the American College of Preventive Medicine and the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research.
It publishes articles in the areas of prevention research, teaching, practice and policy. Original research is published on interventions aimed at the prevention of chronic and acute disease and the promotion of individual and community health.
Appetite is an international research journal specializing in behavioural nutrition and the cultural, sensory, and physiological influences on choices and intakes of foods and drinks.
It covers normal and disordered eating and drinking, dietary attitudes and practices and all aspects of the bases of human and animal behaviour toward food.
The journal carries short communications, book reviews and abstracts from major meetings in the social science, psychology or neuroscience of food consumption, including the Association for the Study of Food in Society, the Society for the Study of Ingestive Behavior, and conferences on Food Choice.
Clinical Nutrition, the official journal of ESPEN, The European Society for Clinical Nutrition and Metabolism, is an international journal providing essential scientific information on nutritional and metabolic care and the relationship between nutrition and disease both in the setting of basic science and clinical practice.
Journal of Nutrition and Metabolism is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research articles, review articles, case reports, and clinical studies in all areas of nutrition and metabolism.
The Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior (JNEB), the official journal of the Society for Nutrition Education, is a refereed, scientific periodical that serves as a resource for all professionals with an interest in nutrition education and dietary/physical activity.
Its content is appropriate for nutritionists, physicians and researchers working in nephrology. Each issue contains a state-of-the-art review, original research, articles on the clinical management and education of patients, a current literature review, and nutritional analysis of food products that have clinical relevance.
Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is the new title for The Journal of the American Dietetic Association is the premier source for the practice and science of food, nutrition, and dietetics.
The monthly, peer-reviewed journal presents original articles prepared by scholars and practitioners and is the most widely read professional publication in the field.
The journal NUTRITION presents advances in nutrition research and science, informs its readers on new and advancing technologies and new data in clinical nutrition practice, encourages the application of the techniques of outcomes research and meta-analyses to problems in patient-related nutrition; and seeks to help clarify and set the research, policy and practice agenda for nutrition science to enhance human well-being in the years ahead.
Online Resources
Be sure to check INDY for periodicals that may be fulltext in another database in our collection. INDY will also indicate the print subscription in our library, if we have it.
When the record states that an embargo is in place for a certain length of time, the publisher has refused to allow the digitization of the articles for the current months, year or years.
If we have the print subscription, then you may photocopy or scan articles to PDF and send to your email.
If we don't have the print, then you may request articles via InterLibrary Loan from another school library by filling out the ILL form on our home page or choose the ILL tab in this LibGuide for easy access.
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.
CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
This comprehensive consumer health resource provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices.
An updated, easy-to-navigate interface featuring quick links to hot topics and top-searched conditions as well as diseases and overviews
More than 1,000 top medical journals and periodicals as well as articles from more than 2,200 general-interest publications — more than 75% in full-text
Medical newspapers, newsletters and news feeds
A broad collection of full-text reference works including The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, Medical Health Information Directory and many others
Streaming video with transcripts from Healthology, Illumistream and NBC
Links to trusted health-related Web sites
An improved Directory Search for accessing contact information for clinics, medical centers and foundations
Reputable sources including Medical and Health Information Directory and various Thomson Healthcare drug guides
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
This exceptional database provides an unprecedented amount of full text for the most prominent journals used in the field of medical research. MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and contains full text for thousands of journals included in the index. This collection also provides full text for many of the most used medical journals – with no embargo.
Find your next South Carolina hospital or healthcare job on SCHospitalJobs.com! Sponsored by the South Carolina Hospital Association, SCHospitalJobs.com helps you locate jobs in nursing, physical therapy, radiology, orthopedics and much more. Search for healthcare jobs, register for free emailed job alerts, research South Carolina hospitals and learn about South Carolina healthcare licensing and regulations. Best of all, everything is free for all healthcare professionals!
STAT!Ref, the premier healthcare e-resource. This link enables users to intuitively take advantage of all the robust features of STAT!Ref. Including access to download our mobile app, evidence alerts, Anatomy & Physiology Online, AAFP Conditions A to Z, MedCalc 3000 all from one intuitive interface.
AAFP Conditions A to Z is a handy patient-information tool that’s been written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). The AAFP is a national medical organization representing more than 93,700 family physicians, family practice residents and medical students. Many are also available in Spanish. Common conditions, treatments and health tips are presented concisely and informatively, and listed alphabetically or cross-searched in STAT!Ref online. Print the information for your patients to enhance understanding and health promotion.
MedCalc 3000 is a collection of over 520 calculators, clinical criteria sets and decision trees that are indispensable to anyone practicing, teaching or studying evidence-based medicine. This resource is integrated in to STAT!Ref and included with every subscription. With every search you perform, STAT!Ref automatically presents links to relevant tools within MedCalc 3000.
3D Primal Pictures in Anatomy TV. This online resource covers all a student needs to know and learn for a 2 semester Anatomy & Physiology course.
There are 20 modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection
slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and
much more. Each module contains: An overview and clear learning objectives • Key concepts and processes
• 3D image and interactive models • Narrated animations and illustrations • Quizzes and reviews
• Pronunciation guides to key medical terms • Clinical case studies for each system • Clinical test • The effects of aging
This link opens in a new window
