Skip to main content

Citation Guide: Chicago/Turabian Format

This guide is a helpful resource for citing materials using APA, Turabian, and MLA.

Chicago

The Chicago Manual of Style provides detailed guidelines for using Chicago style. The most recent edition of the Chicago Manual of Style is kept in Reference at the J.S. Mack Library.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers provides detailed guidelines for using Turabian style. The most recent edition of the Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations : Chicago Style for Students and Researchers is kept on Reserve at the J.S. Mack Library.

What is Chicago/Turabian?

Cite an Electronic Source               Cite a Print Source

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide

The Chicago Manual of Style presents two basic documentation systems, the humanities style (notes and bibliography) and the author-date system. Choosing between the two often depends on subject matter and nature of sources cited, as each system is favored by different groups of scholars.

The humanities style is preferred by many in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography. It accommodates a variety of sources, including esoteric ones less appropriate to the author-date system.

The more concise author-date system has long been used by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author's last name and date of publication. The short citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided.

Below are some common examples of materials cited in both styles. Each example is given first in humanities style (a note [N], followed by a bibliographic entry [B]) and then in author-date style (an in-text citation [T], followed by a reference-list entry [R]). For numerous specific examples, see chapters 16 and 17 of The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition.

The University of Chicago Press
http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/home.html

Turabian

Kate L. Turabian's Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations presents two basic documentation systems, notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style) and parenthetical citations-reference list style (or reference list style). These styles are essentially the same as those presented in The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition, with slight modifications for the needs of student writers.

Bibliography style is used widely in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in footnotes or endnotes and, usually, a bibliography.

The more concise reference list style has long been used in the physical, natural, and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in parentheses in the text by author's last name and date of publication. The parenthetical citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided.

The University of Chicago Press
http://www.press.uchicago.edu/books/turabian/