Skip to main content

Database Basics: Home

Highlighted databases to guide students to valuable resources. LibGuide used for English 102 Workshops.

Films on Demand

How do I find the databases?

BJU students must use their CAS (campus login) user name and password in order to access databases. It is the same user name and password used to access email.

Credo Search Box

Credo Logo

Google Scholar

OWL, Plagiarism, Reading Scholarly Articles

OWL stands for Online Writing Lab located at Purdue University.  It is an invaluable resource for college students.

Search BJU Mack Library Catalog

Searching 101

Which database should I use?

  • Be sure to check Full Text Finder for periodicals that may be fulltext in another database in our collection. Full Text Finder will also indicate the print subscription in our library, if we have it. 
  • When the record states that an embargo is in place for a certain length of time, the publisher has refused to allow the digitization of the articles for the current months, year or years.
  • If we have the print subscription, then you may photocopy or scan articles to PDF and send to your email.
  • If we don't have the print, then you may request articles via InterLibrary Loan from another school library by filling out the ILL form on our home page or choose the ILL tab in this LibGuide for easy access.

Finding Articles in Magazines and Journals

Popular magazines vs. scholarly journals

What should you use? It depends on your purpose:

Magazine

Journal

Audience: the general public

Audience: scholars in a particular field

Short articles to inform or entertain

Lengthy articles that report research findings or academic information

Articles written by journalists

Articles written by specialists in the field

Articles reviewed by a general editor

Articles often reviewed by other specialists in the field before publication to ensure objectivity of research

Usually no footnotes or bibliography

Extensive bibliography and footnotes/endnotes

Extensive advertising

Little or no advertising

Examples:

  • US News and World Report
  • Christianity Today
  • Sports Illustrated
  • Popular Science

Examples:

  • Journal of the American Medical Association
  • Bibliotheca Sacra
  • Science
  • Journal of Educational Research

Using online indexes

The Library subscribes to several article databases and indexes that allow patrons to search for articles in all subject fields. These online indexes are usually hosted on the Internet and can be accessed via our Online Resources Link. Select either the alphabetical listing or the subject listing of available databases. Current students, faculty, staff, and graduate assistants can access these databases from home through the BJU CAS and enter your Novell ID and password.

Online databases will often provide an electronic copy of the printed article. 

The Periodical Finder lists magazines/journals in our databases as well as the notation that we have the magazine/journal in print format.

Choosing the right database

The online databases are categorized by subject and name. Choose the subject heading that suits your topic and click on the dropdown list to see a list of databases that index articles in your subject field. Some databases overlap.

In general, try these databases for

  • News or Law -- LexisNexis Academic; Custom Newspapers
  • Articles from journals or magazines — Academic Search Complete; Academic OneFile
  • Controversial issues — Opposing Viewpoints in Context
  • Government documents and information -- CQ Researcher
  • Religion or Theology -- Christian Periodicals Index; ATLA; Theological Journals Online
  • Education — Education Research Complete; ERIC
  • Health/Medical -- CINAHL Complete; MEDLINE Complete
  • Literature — Literature Resource Center; Humanities Index Complete

How to obtain an article from the library

  1. Check the catalog to see if the library has a subscription to the magazine or journal.
  2. Check the database, Full Text Finder, for availability to the electronic format.
  3. If the library carries the title, check the location to see if the periodical is in the ROOM or the STACKS or on MICROFORM.
    • If the title is in the periodical stacks the issue will be in a bound volume shelved in the Periodicals Room. Recent issues may still be in the periodical limited access stacks located around room perimeter.
    • If the issue is in periodical limited access stacks, fill out a yellow slip and give it to the periodicals assistant. The assistant will retrieve the periodical.
    • If the issue is on microform, fill out a yellow slip and give it to the periodicals assistant. The periodicals assistant will get out the microfilm or fiche and set up the reader or printer.

How to obtain articles from periodicals the library does not subscribe to

The library can obtain most articles through ILLiad, our InterLibrary Loan service. Please click on Inter-Library Loan for policies and the ILLiad request form.

Most articles will arrive within ten days. In some cases, the lending library will send the article directly your your email.

Back to TOP

About the Library